Rosanne Cash, Roy Orbison, Neville Brothers Set for ACL Hall of Fame

Rosanne Cash
Rolling Stone

Artists will be inducted at fall concert event featuring Raul Malo and Ry Cooder
By Stephen L. Betts

Rosanne Cash and Roy Orbison will join the Austin City Limits Hall of Fame, along with New Orleans legends the Neville Brothers, when the latest class of inductees is celebrated with a star-studded ceremony on October 25th.

Held at the long-running PBS series' home, ACL Live at the Moody Theater in downtown Austin, the event will be hosted by Chris Isaak, who will also do the induction honors for rock & roll icon Roy Orbison. Raul Malo of the Mavericks and guitar great Ry Cooder are among the performers appearing at the event, which is open to the public. Tickets will go on sale Friday, April 21st at 10 a.m. CT.

A special New Year's Eve episode of Austin City Limits will recap musical highlights and the artists' induction into the Hall of Fame, which was established in 2014 with the inaugural class that included Willie Nelson, Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble, musician/producer Lloyd Maines, program creator Bill Arhos and Darrell Royal. In 2015, honorees were Asleep at the Wheel, Loretta Lynn, Guy Clark, Flaco Jiménez and Townes Van Zandt, along with the original crew of the show's first season, which got underway in 1974. Last year, Kris Kristofferson, Bonnie Raitt and B.B. King were added, along with the concert series' former executive producer Dick Peterson. Nelson led the Kristofferson tribute with a performance of his longtime friend's classic, "Me and Bobby McGee." Season 43 of Austin City Limits premieres this fall on PBS.
Read full story