Recent News
Keith Lockhart
JoAnn Falletta, Mariss Jansons, David Alan Miller, Peter Oundjian, Patrick Summers, Alexandre Tharaud, Magos Herrera & Brooklyn Rider , Mason Bates, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Munich , Academy of St Martin in the Fields , Les Violons du Roy , Anthony Roth Costanzo, Nathan Gunn
2019 Grammy Nominees
Grammy Awards
New York Philharmonic String Quartet , Yefim Bronfman
Bronfman, NY Philharmonic Quartet impress at Linton Series
Cincinnati Business Courier
Julian Wachner
This Is the Best ‘Messiah’ in New York
The New York Times
Sir Andrew Davis
ELGAR The Music Makers. The Spirit of England (Davis)
Chanticleer Christmas concert, 11/30/18
Ward Stare
Twin pianists deliver impeccable style in ‘Perfect Pairs’ concert
Sarasota Herald Tribune
Richard Kaufman
Broadway World
Twyla Tharp Dance
Dreaming of Dancing With Twyla Tharp
Next Avenue
Twyla Tharp Dance
‘Minimalism and Me’ Review: Twyla Tharp Tells Her Story
Wall Street Journal

News archive »

Review: Brahms Festival Finale (Garrick Ohlsson, WASO)

Asher Fisch, Garrick Ohlsson

My friend and colleague Neville Cohn, music critic for The West Australian, emailed me this morning to say, “In more than three decades of listening to the WASO, last night's performance was surely one of the most memorable – and for the very best of reasons.” I would go one further and say that listening to Saturday night's performances of Brahms' Piano Concerto No 2 in B flat, Op. 83 and Symphony No 4 in E minor, Op. 98 by pianist Garrick Ohlsson, the West Australian Symphony Orchestra and Principal Conductor Asher Fisch was one of the most profoundly thrilling and beautiful musical experiences of my life. And I have no doubt many others privileged enough to have been among the capacity audience would agree.

Brahms' four-movement piano concerto, first performed in 1881, is of course a canvas stretched between a much, much larger frame. So naturally those same qualities dominated Ohlsson's rhapsodic, magisterial playing here, coupled with a huge dynamic palette ranging from triple forte to a near-inaudible, bell-like pianissimo. Not that other soloists – chief among them horn principal David Evans in the opening Allegro non troppo and cello principal Rod McGrath in the spacious Andante – weren't given ample opportunities to, as Jane Austen might say, exhibit. 

But the essential dialectic between piano and orchestra as melodic and rhythmic motifs were developed, atomised or plain fought over was the main show. And again, as in the previous concerts in the series, it was the phenomenal string playing which stood out, under Fisch's baton and new concertmaster Laurence Jackson's bow so unified, so disciplined and yet glowing with a warm, variegated timbre that is fast becoming truly distinctive.

If the Second Concerto's final Allegretto grazioso is Brahms at his most insouciant and sunny, the Fourth Symphony's final Allegro energico e passionato, a darkly dramatic passacaglia, is Brahms at his most melancholy and overcast. Not that the path to reach it is any less moody; though Fisch, as always, took the long view, allowing the Allegro non troppo's drama to unfold at its own pace towards a riveting development section. The Andante moderato was a wonder in itself, the balance between the winds and pizzicato strings especially so imaginatively visualised and perfectly realised that in such a rarefied atmosphere one became as Tennyson's lotus-eaters, “with half-shut eyes ever to seem/Falling asleep in a half-dream”. 

The rude awakening came not in the galloping Allegro giocoso but with the trombones announcing the sombre, funereal theme of the final movement's passacaglia. Among the 30 or so following short variations there is so much variety of treatment, not least in orchestration, that one could fill a book; ditto with Fisch's cohesively wintry yet rigorously informed imaginings, which lent this performance such enormous depth and vitality. 

Read the rest of the review here