Daniil Trifonov

MOSCOW/ST. PETERSBURG—Pianist Daniil Trifonov (Russia) has been awarded the Grand Prix at the XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition. Maestro Valery Gergiev announced the award at the conclusion of the July 2 laureates' concert in St. Petersburg. Mr. Trifonov also won the Gold Medal and the Prize for the Best Performance of the Chamber Concerto in the piano competition. Read Mr. Trifonov's bio.

The Grand Prix is awarded to only one competitor from the four Tchaikovsky disciplines (piano, cello, violin, voice), and comes with a cash prize of 10,000 Euro.
See the complete list of competition winners.
Find the webcast archive at www.tchaikovsky-competition.tv and at http://pitch.paraclassics.com.
For more than fifty years, the International Tchaikovsky Competition has been regarded as one of the major events in the global music community, and as an outstanding opportunity for extraordinary young musicians to gain international recognition and establish their careers. In Russia, the event is considered one of the country’s most valuable cultural assets.
The International Tchaikovsky Competition is held once every four years. The first, in 1958, embraced two disciplines, piano and violin. In 1962, a cello category was added, and the vocal division (with separate prizes for men and women) was introduced at the third competition in 1966.
Among the competition winners who have achieved worldwide recognition are pianists Van Cliburn, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Mikhail Pletnev, Grigory Sokolov, and Barry Douglas; violinists Gidon Kremer, Vladimir Spivakov, and Victoria Mullova; cellists Antonio Meneses, Natalia Gutman, and Mario Brunello; and singers Evgeny Nesterenko, Paata Burchuladze, Elena Obraztsova, and Deborah Voigt.
Under the chairmanship of Dmitri Shostakovich, Emil Gilels, and Mstislav Rostropovich, among others, past juries have included such legendary names as Sviatoslav Richter, Aram Khachaturian, David Oistrakh, Gregor Piatigorsky, Heinrich Neuhaus, Nadia Boulanger, Krzysztof Penderecki, Dmitri Kabalevsky, Irina Arkhipova, George London, Lev Oborin, Pierre Fournier, Maria Callas, Leonard Rose, Eugene List, Georgy Svirdov, Mario Del Monaco, Leonid Kogan, Carlo Zecchi, Joseph Szigeti, Fiorenza Cossotto, Natalia Gutman, Shlomo Mintz, Bidu Sayao, and Magda Tagliaferro.
The chairman of the 2011 Organizing Committee is conductor Valery Gergiev, one of the most celebrated and influential musicians in the world today. Leading Russian orchestras are invited to perform with the finalists in the last round of the competition. In 2011, for the first time, the competition is presented simultaneously at halls in Moscow and St. Petersburg. Moscow hosts the piano and cello competitions, while St. Petersburg presents the violin and vocal competitions.
Jury members in 2011 include Barry Douglas, Anne-Sophie Mutter, Maxim Vengerov, Antonio Meneses, Renata Scotto, and Krzysztof Penderecki, among other noted musicians. Van Cliburn is the honorary chairman of the piano competition, and the honorary chairman of the vocal competition is Plácido Domingo. See the complete list of jury members here.
The XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition—which has implemented new sets of rules, regulations, and procedures for applications and voting—will award prizes totaling approximately 300,000 Euros. In addition, the XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition will collaborate with three major artist management agencies in Russia, the United States, and the United Kingdom to organize concert engagements over three years for prizewinners. The concerts will include several performances under conductor Valery Gergiev. See the list of prizes here.