International Tchaikovsky Competition

The International Tchaikovsky Competition: The Renaissance Continues
An imposing list of leading performers among the jurors

Honorary Chairmen:
Van Cliburn for the Piano Competition
Plácido Domingo for the Vocal Competition

The members of the juries have been announced for the XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition, set for June 14-July 2, 2011 in Moscow and St. Petersburg, as have the composers of the commissioned works, the venues and final round orchestras for the event.

Among the members of the juries are some of today’s most distinguished performers – including a number of past Tchaikovsky Competition winners.

PIANO:  Under the Honorary Chairmanship of Van Cliburn – who caused a sensation when, in 1958, he won the first-ever Tchaikovsky Piano Competition -- the Piano section will be judged by, among others: Vladimir Ashkenazy and Barry Douglas (both former Tchaikovsky Competition winners), Michel Beroff, Yefim Bronfman and Nelson Freire.
VIOLIN:  The judges for the Violin category include Anne-Sophie Mutter, Leonidas Kavakos, Maxim Vengerov and Nikolaj Znaider.

CELLO:  The Cello competition will be judged by, among others, Mario Brunello (winner in 1986), Lynn Harrell, Ralph Kirshbaum, Antonio Meneses and Clive Gillinson (former orchestral cellist and now Executive and Artistic Director of Carnegie Hall).

VOCAL:  For the Vocal section, the line-up includes Teresa Berganza, Ileana Cotrubas, Elena Obraztsova (winner in 1970), Renata Scotto and Ferruccio Furlanetto. Plácido Domingo will act as Honorary Chairman of the Vocal Competition.

Hailing the judges, Richard Rodzinski, General Director of the competition,  says: “We are immensely grateful that so many outstanding performing artists have accepted Maestro Gergiev's invitation to donate their valuable time and wisdom to serving on our juries, in order to help  usher in a new generation of musicians.

“We now have fresh rules and regulations, more rigorous application and screening procedures to select a total of 120 competitors – substantially fewer than in previous years – and transparent, unambiguous voting systems.  This is all complemented by a new website, international advertising to attract competitors and, at the event itself, TV and online webcast projects. 2011 will reveal a transformed Tchaikovsky Competition with a greater reach than ever before: it will be something for the whole musical world to enjoy and admire.”

Mr Rodzinski, President Emeritus of the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, remarks how extraordinary it is for one competition to gather three of the world’s foremost composers to write new works to be played by all semifinalists:  the Russian Rodion Shchedrin (for the piano competition); the Pole Krzysztof Penderecki (cello) and the American John Corigliano (violin).  Both Penderecki and Corigliano will also serve as jurors.

The competition is expecting many hundreds of applicants from around the world. The initial submission takes the form of a 50-minute recital (20 minutes for singers) on DVD. Instrumentalists must be aged between 16 and 30 at the time of the competition, singers between 19 and 32. The first prize in each category is 20,000 Euros, with the total prize money for the competition running to some 350,000 Euros. While the competition itself is fully funded by the Russian government, support for additional events and for the competition’s TV and webcast presence is being sought from national and international sponsors.

Following the Gala Award Ceremony on June 30, the Laureates’ Concert will be led by Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra first in Moscow on July 1 at the Bolshoi Zal of the Moscow Conservatory. The concert will be repeated the following day in St. Petersburg in the Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre. Gergiev himself will later conduct several of the concerts that form part of the winners’ prize: a series of prestigious international engagements over a period of three years, organised in collaboration with leading artist management agencies in Russia (Moscow Philharmonic Society), the  US (Opus 3 Artists) and the UK (Intermusica).

Mo. Gergiev commented: “In setting the highest standards for this great event, steeped in the rich heritage of our Russian musical culture, we have done our utmost to establish conditions that will enable young musicians to perform at their best.  We have sought out jury members who are both ideally qualified and admirably unbiased; we have selected repertoire that will allow young musicians to reveal their talents to the full; we have secured the best orchestras and conductors, and the most renowned concert halls in Moscow and St. Petersburg. In doing all this, we have consistently thought first and foremost of the competitors. And, after the competition, I am personally committed to introducing the laureates to the world in concerts that I will conduct in Russia, Europe and America.”

Among past winners of the competition who have achieved worldwide recognition are: pianists Van Cliburn, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Mikhail Pletnev, Grigory Sokolov and Boris Berezovsky; violinists Gidon Kremer, Vladimir Spivakov, Viktoria Mullova and Raphaël Oleg; cellists Antonio Meneses, Natalia Gutman and Mario Brunello; and singers Evgeny Nesterenko, Paata Burchuladze, Elena Obraztsova and Deborah Voigt.

The juries for the XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition (subject to change)

Dmitri Alexeev
Vladimir Ashkenazy
Michel Beroff
Yefim Bronfman
Peter Donohoe
Barry Douglas
Nelson Freire
Denis Matsuev
Mikhail Voskresensky
Evgeni Koroliov

Andres Cardenes
John Corigliano
Martin Engstroem
Leonidas Kavakos
Boris Kuschnir
Anne-Sophie Mutter
Barry Shiffman
Sergei Stadler
Victor Tretiakov
Maxim Vengerov
Nikolaj Znaider

Mario Brunello
Enrico Dindo
David Geringas
Clive Gillinson
Lynn Harrell
Ralph Kirshbaum
Antonio Meneses
Krzysztof Penderecki
Gustav Rivinius
Sergei Roldugin
Martti Rousi

Vladimir Atlantov
Teresa Berganza
Ileana Cotrubas
Ferruccio Furlanetto
Raina Kabaivanska
Elena Obraztsova
Renata Scotto

The FINAL ROUND orchestras for the XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition
Gala opening concert June 14 at the Bolshoi Zal of the Moscow Conservatory   
National Philharmonic Orchestra of Russia, conductor: Vladimir Spivakov

Piano competition         
Russian National Orchestra

Violin competition     
St. Petersburg Philharmonic

Cello competition        
State Academic Symphony Orchestra

Voice competition
Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra

Laureate concerts
July 1 at the Bolshoi Zal of the Moscow Conservatory
July 2 St. Petersburg in the Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre
Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra/conductor: Valery Gergiev

The Venues (moscow/st petersburg) for the XIV International Tchaikovsky Competition

Piano competition (MOSCOW)
Bolshoi Zal of the Moscow Conservatory   

Violin competition (ST PETERSBURG)
Glazunov Hall of the St. Petersburg Conservatory (Rounds 1 & 2)
St. Petersburg Philharmonic Hall (Round 3)

Cello competition (MOSCOW)       
Maly Zal of the Moscow Conservatory (Rounds 1 & 2)
Tchaikovsky Concert Hall (Round 3)

Voice competition (ST PETERSBURG)
Glinka Capella of the St. Petersburg State Cultural Institution (Rounds 1 & 2);
Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre (Round 3)

For MORE INFORMATION About the International Tchaikovsky Competition, please visit: